Dr Dominic Ng appointed to AAS National Committee for Science

20 Jun 2016

Dr Dominic NgARC Future Fellow and Senior Lecturer Dr Dominic Ng has been appointed to the Australian Academy of Science (AAS) National Committee for Cellular and Developmental Biology.

The Committee is one of 22 National Committees for Science that advise the Academy’s Council on Australia’s representation on the International Council for Science Union (ICSU) and other international organisations.

Dr Ng said he was delighted to have been invited to join the Committee and was looking forward to working with other members on initiatives such as the recent Medical Research Future Fund consultation and input into the NHMRC Fellowship scheme.

“The main aim of the Committee is to foster the disciplines of cellular and developmental biology in Australia as well as serving as a link with overseas scientists,” he said.

“We will also be working on a number of other specific objectives, such as developing responses to national and international policy debates and advising on issues of particular importance such as funding, infrastructure, research conduct and integrity, career development and public perceptions of research.

“The Committee will also make recommendations for the annual Australian Academy of Science’s Honorific Awards for Scientific Excellence.”

Dr Ng’s research area of interest is the molecular control of cell and tissue growth, with a specific focus on the signalling regulation of the cytoskeleton (protein filaments that determine cellular architecture and behaviour).

Before joining SBMS in 2015 Dr Ng’s previous appointments included post-doctoral research at the world renowned A*STAR Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology in Singapore and as group leader at the Bio21 Institute at the University of Melbourne.

Contact: Dr Dominic Ng, d.ng1@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 3077